by mposadasn

What better way to kick off a blog than to talk about piercings…

This post is really just to break the ice, get the ball moving: this is the story of my nose piercing.

I was lying in bed one night weighed down by heavy covers, a heavy stomach, and a heavy heart. Since sleep didn’t seem like an option that evening, I reached over to grab my Bible and opened to Genesis, flipped through the first couple pages, and stopped at Genesis 24. Here I found a new twist to this passage that I had been familiar with since infancy, realizing that Genesis 24 is also all about the love story between the servant Abraham sends out to find Isaac a wife, and God.

So Abraham asks his servant to go out and find Isaac a wife. I love the servant’s response to this command, staggering in front of his master he basically responds with, “well what if I can’t find anyone, Abraham?” And a valid question at that, I mean… what was Abraham thinking, to just stroll into Wife Shop and pick the best one out?

Abraham responds, God will provide.

That’s pretty sick. I mean, Abraham’s faith. But, I’m sure this just added a little more pressure onto the servant’s nerves, and maybe a little of, “this guy is crazy” under his breath.

But then we see that the servant follows Abraham’s orders, but when he sets off on the journey to find this wife and later makes a stop, he also does something really significant. He prays.

“Lord, God of my master Abraham, make me successful today, and show kindness to my master Abraham. See, I am standing beside this spring, and the daughters of the townspeople are coming out to draw water. May it be that when I say to a young woman, ‘Please let down your jar that I may have a drink,’ and she says, ‘Drink, and I’ll water your camels too’—let her be the one you have chosen for your servant Isaac. By this I will know that you have shown kindness to my master.”- Genesis 24:12-14

I admire the boldness of this man’s prayer: “God, bring me this woman, and this is how you’re going to let me know she’s the one.” The servant speaks out of his doubt, places his trust and reflects an intimate tone through his words towards God.

Then Rebekah comes along and one of the first things mentioned about her is that she’s a virgin. I think that super significant because, it represents the pure condition that envelops the gifts God gives us. And not only that, but she walks up to the servant and displays her own servant’s heart by pulling out water for the man and the camels. In just moments, the servant’s words to God went from being syllables thrown into the air to becoming a concrete sign of reassurance of His care, provision, and love to His people.

So anyways, when the camels had finished drinking, the servant took out a gold nose ring weighing a beka and two gold bracelets weighing ten shekels.
Then he asked, “Whose daughter are you? Please tell me, is there room in your father’s house for us to spend the night?”

This short scene sealed the deal, it was the servant’s “amen” to God, and God’s absolute faithfulness to His children. And so that’s why I wanted a nose ring: to wear it as a symbol of my covenant with God to serve Him and His people, as well as His promises to keep exposing new angles of His love as I follow Him.

The heaviness of my covers was transformed into the thick presence of His love, the heaviness of my heart became the strong pounding and passion to “roll up my bed and follow Him”, and the heaviness of my stomach was overcome by a thousand butterflies in excitement for His anointing over my life.

I had nose idea a piercing could come with that kind of story, either.

